Florida Elder Law & Estate Planning Blog
Tickets Now Being Issued For Texting While Driving
January 1, 2020
A reminder to drivers that Florida’s texting while driving law went into effect on January 1. Drivers caught texting while driving starting July 1 were issued warnings, but the warning period has ended. Now, drivers will receive tickets. The first offense will incur a $30 penalty and court costs. Additional violations within a five-year period will result in a $60 penalty and court costs, plus three points on your license.
Also, drivers must not use a hand-held device in school zones, school crossings, or active work zones.
You may used your GPS while driving and you may text if you are at a stop light.